+ How can I apply for a unit?
To apply for any of our rental properties, visit out Available Properties page and click on "Apply Now" next to the property you are interested in.
There is a $25 non-refundable application fee required.
If you have any questions, please don't hestitate to contact us.
+ How much is rent? How much is the deposit?
To see the listing prices for our units, please visit the links below. All prices for rent, deposits, pet rent, etc. should be in the details. If you have further questions, contact the property manager.
+ Can I view the unit before I apply?
We encourage all our applicants to view units and we try to make it convenient for you.
For Single Units Across San Diego:
We use an electronic lock box system called Rently which allows you to view a property at any time. To see a list of units that are available for self-showing, please visit our Self Showing page.
For Apartment Complexes:
If you are interested in viewing any units at our apartment complexes, please contact the on-site manager or visit their office between 8 AM and 5 PM.
+ Do you accept section 8?
Yes, we accept section 8 and other assistance programs as proof of income. It will be taken into account when the application is processed and all applicants will be held to the same qualifying standards.
+ Do you accept co-signers?
We accept co-signers for some situations. Please contact us to find out more.
+ Do you accept pets?
Some of our properties are pet friendly. Please view the details for each property to see whether pets are accepted. If you have any questions, don't hestitate to contact us.
+ Are your leases for 6 or 12 months?
Normally, we only sign 12 month leases with tenants.
+ Do you have an income requirement?
Normally we look for income that is 2.5 or 3 times the rent. Income can include assistance like food stamps and child support. Contact us if you have more questions.
+ What is your screening process and rentail criteria?
We score applications based on credit score & history, rental history, proof of income, and criminal background information. Here are some of our requirements to rent:
- A decent credit score - not necessarily perfect. (650 minimum)
- Public Records will be reviewed on an individual basis.
- Proof of income to be able to rent. Income can include assistance such as food stamps, child support - call for clarification if necessary.
- A United States Social Security Number
- Identification which must include one of the following: California Driver's license (from each adult) OR California State Identification Card (available from any DMV Office from each adult) OR a United States, District ( i.e. Puerto Rico, Samoan Island) - District Official Driver's License, or ID Card OR a Department of Defense Official ID - or any other State ID or Driver's License.
- You must obtain or currently have and or be willing to transfer renter's insurance. This can usually be purchased from your car insurance carrier.
+ How do you determine who gets to rent the unit?
We rent all units on a first come, best qualified basis. If you are first in line and the best qualified, it is highly likely you will be chosen as the new tenant.
+ How many people can reside in a 1 bed, 2 bed, 3 bed unit?
By California law, you are allowed 2 people per bedroom plus 1 person per common area. So, for most standard homes, the maximum occupancy would look like the following:
Studio - 2 people
1 Bedrooms - 3 people
2 Bedrooms - 5 people
3 Bedrooms - 7 people
+ Who needs to fill out an application?
Every adult (over the age of 18) that will be living in the unit will need to fill out a separate application.
+ What are the best schools? Is the neighborhood safe?
Unfortunately, we can't answer these questions. We encourage you to look into the area and see what you think. Here are some resources for finding out more information.
+ When can I move in?
The date and time that you can move in depends on a few things.
- Your application must be filled out correctly and accepted.
- The unit must be rent ready.
- You must have the funds for your security deposit and first month's rent.
Please contact your property manager to schedule a move-in date.
+ Can I pay online?
Yes! Our online tenant portal is fast, secure, and easy to use. We encourage all our tenants to use it. Plese visit our Tenant Portal page to learn more.
+ Can I pay rent in cash or check?
- No. Jensen Properties never accepts cash for anything.
- If you are moving in, making a first time payment, or have been restricted from online payments, you must pay with certified funds - money order or cashier's check.
- If you are a current resident, you may pay with money order, cashier's check, or personal check. However, we strongly advise you to make payments online since it is the most secure way to pay rent.
+ How do I submit a maintenance request?
Please visit our Maintenance Requests page for all the information you need. You will be prompted to sign into your Tenant Portal and you will be able to submit requests with notes and photos attached.
+ How can I renew my lease?
Plese contact us and let us know if you want to renew your lease. We are always happy to help.
+ What things am I responsible for as a tenant?
Everything should be clearly stated in your lease and we strongly encourage you to fully read and re-read your lease.
You will be responsible for the following things:
- Changing light bulbs
- Clogs in drains caused by hair, grease, soap, objects, or feminine products
- Resetting GFCI outlets, breakers, and garbage disposal
- Routine or unit specific pest problems
- Replacing batteries for CO detectors and thermostat controllers
- Changing AC filters on a regular basis (we suggest every 3 months)
Note: You might be responsible for things like landscaping and utilities, but these are lease specific. We strongly encourage you to familiarize yourself with your lease. If you have any questions, please let us know or call us.
+ When is rent due?
Rent is due on the 1st of every month. Please see the next question/answer for information on late fees.
+ Can I pay my rent late?
If you pay rent after your grace period, you will be charged a late fee and a notice will be sent to you. Rent is due on the 1st of each month. You can always pay rent early without any issue. Some leases have a grace period written in them, but each lease is unique, so check your lease for information about your grace period and if you have one. However, This grace period doesn't change the due date. If you know that you will have an issue with paying rent, notify us as soon as possible. Notifying us does not mean that you are permitted to pay rent late.
+ How do I add someone to my lease? What should I do if a roommate moves in/out?
Contact your property manager. You and the roommate will need to complete a roommate change form or resign a lease. Each situation is different, so your property manager will help you out with the change.
+ Will my rent be raised?
If you have a year lease with us, we will not raise your rent during the lease period. Renewing your lease with us can help keep your rent lower as well.
+ Can I hang up our pictures/TV?
Normal wear and tear is expected during tenancy. If there are several small nail holes from hanging light pictures or something similar, that will be fine. However, if you use screws, large hooks, or make any holes larger than a small picture nail, you could be charged upon move-out. Large holes are not considered normal wear and tear.